Getting ready

April 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

I feel like I haven’t been on here in so long. We’ve been working really hard getting our house ready to put it on the market. This means finishing up painting projects, packing and decluttering, and making our tiny backyard presentable.

It’s been fun, but it’s been very time consuming. It doesn’t help that baby is all over the place and in everything. Just the other morning I heard his little giggles (the ones that say “this is fun and I am proud of myself for doing something I shouldn’t be doing”) in the bathroom and went to see what was up. He was playing in the toilet with a plastic hammer, splashing toilet water everywhere. That’s a pretty typical scenario around here these days.

But even though we’ve been saying this for weeks, we really are finishing up our lists and wrapping things up house-wise. We’re not sure where exactly we’ll end up when our house sells, though we’ll probably concentrate our searches in Falls Church, Arlington, and possibly DC. It all depends on how much we can get for our house (a foreclosure we purchased at a near-bottom market price).

It’s always sad how you finally get your house just the way you want it when you are getting ready to leave. Hopefully I’ll remember this and get our new house (wherever, whenever that is) into shape more quickly than I did this one. I’ll miss our first home.

Just to recap on some progress we’ve made over the past two weeks:

-My mom came over Saturday morning and helped me spruce up the backyard. Unfortunately I don’t have a “before” photo, but believe me…it wasn’t worth looking at. Here’s are some “after” photos:

-Also, I have only two small painting projects left, both in the main living area.

-I reused old curtains and set them up in the basement to make room for more light and added staging.

-I purchased simple white curtains and put them up in our bedroom. (It’s amazing what new curtains can do for a room!)

-I’ve started decluttering the guest bedroom and am going through all the boxes in that closet to decide what to keep and what needs to go.

-I’ve decided to purchase this inexpensive ottoman/coffee table to store baby’s toys while showing the house. It’ll look much better than this:

And this:

We’ve taken a bunch of baby steps…now it’s almost time for us to take some big steps. I’ll keep you updated on our progress…have a lovely week!

Tagged: , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Getting ready at halcyon homestead.

meta

