A day in our life: weekly menu plan

February 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

Every Saturday I am going to post my weekly menu (for the upcoming week) on my blog for a few reasons:

1. Accountability. I really want to stick to a weekly menu plan (weekly as in Monday-Friday), and what better way to stay accountable than to post it online for all to see?

2. Ease. I want to have an easily accessible archive of what I have made recently and not so recently…make it easy to add something to my weekly list I haven’t made in months.

3. To (hopefully) inspire you. I love seeing other people’s weekly menus. It inspires me, and I think it is interesting to see what each family tends to eat…the differences never cease to amaze me.  Maybe you enjoy seeing what other people eat, too!

So, posting two days late, but posting nonetheless:

  • Monday: Soup with hummus and pita chips
  • Tuesday: Vegetable lasagna
  • Wednesday: Curried couscous salad
  • Thursday: Italian chicken and rice
  • Friday: Lasagna soup
The recipes are below:

Soup with hummus and pita chips. Today is what I call a “coming-off-the-weekend-and-haven’t-made-it-to-the-grocery-store-yet day”. I think that is pretty self explanatory. To clarify, the soup is canned soup. Yum.

Pioneer Woman’s vegetable lasagna (recipe found here)

Curried couscous salad, a fabulous recipe I received from my friend Jackie (who is a great cook). When she first found out I was pregnant with Rafe she emailed me several recipes that are healthy, filling, and easy to make; pretty much recipes that are perfect for when you are tired, feel fat, and want something fresh.

Ingredients

  • 14oz. chicken broth
  • 10oz box of Far East couscous (plain), cooked as box directs with chicken broth instead of water
  • Pine nuts (expensive but delicious – optional)
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • green onions (about 3), chopped
  • 1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans – same thing)
  • Diced red pepper (I usually just use a green pepper since it’s cheaper)
  • currents (just small raisins – just use raisins if you already have ’em)
Dressing
  •    6 Tablespoon lemon juice (you can buy the big bottle of it at the grocery store rather than buying tons of lemons)
  •    1/2 c. olive oil
  •    1/2 teaspoon cumin
  •    1/2 teaspoon curry
  •    pinch of garlic powder

Directions

Cook couscous as directed, chill if possible. Add all prepared ingredients, then add dressing when ready to serve. Enjoy!

Italian chicken and rice. I have seen many variations of this, but this is my favorite, slightly adapted from my friend Naomi.

Ingredients

  • 4 boneless chicken breasts OR a beef roast
  • 1 packet of Italian dressing seasoning
  • 1 jar (8 oz) of sliced pepperoncini peppers

Directions

Place chicken or beef in crockpot, pour entire jar (juice too!) of pepperoncini peppers on top of the meat, sprinkle Italian dressing seasoning packet on top of meat and peppers. Cook on high for 6 hours. Serve on top of warm rice with a side of veggies.

I hope you all like this one as much as I do!

Lasagna soup or more accurately, leftover lasagna vegetable soup. I’m sure many of you have seen the Pintrest recipe for lasagna soup floating around recently. Basically, the inspiration for a lasagna soup got the wheels turning in my head. Here’s what I plan to do:

Ingredients

  • Leftover lasagna
  • Chicken or vegetable stock
  • Ricotta and parmesan cheese mixture (found here under “cheesy yum”)

Directions

Cut leftover lasagna in either 1 inch cubes or thin 1 inch strips (basically so that the noodles can fit onto a soup spoon), place in a pot with broth, stir, adding brother until you reach a desired consistency. Warm in pot until heated through. Top with cheese mixture, and serve with crusty bread.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading A day in our life: weekly menu plan at halcyon homestead.

meta

