Homemade Greek yogurt in a crockpot

February 21, 2012 § Leave a comment

When I was visiting my friends in Atlanta last summer, I went to a Greek yogurt-making party that was hosted by my second mama (a best friend’s mother). She shared this recipe with us, and I have wanted to try it ever since last July. Well, last week I finally got around to making it, and it turned out wonderfully! I was really surprised how much it tasted like yogurt purchased from the store. Because I was able to get the milk on sale (and with a coupon) for $1.50, I was able to get a week’s worth of yogurt for that price! The recipe says it makes about 4 ½ cups yogurt, but I think it may have been a little more than that for us. You should give it a try if you haven’t already…it’s so easy to make!

Do any of you have a different yogurt recipe you’ve tried and liked?

Note: I didn’t have any raw honey (or any honey for that matter) on hand, so I just used two packets of Truvia.

Straining the yogurt to make it extra thick and creamy.

The finished product!

Tagged: , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homemade Greek yogurt in a crockpot at halcyon homestead.

meta

