Simple homemade onesie for my (almost) one-year-old!

February 3, 2012 § Leave a comment


My son’s first birthday is coming up quickly and we are having a small family gathering to celebrate this coming Saturday. I have seen some really cute onesies with the number “1” on them in several stores and decided I could make my own by repurposing a slightly stained onesie we already have. The nice thing is, the “1” just happens to cover the stain! This is certainly a project (covering stains with other pieces of fabric, that is) I am pretty sure I’ll do a lot in my life as mom. Here’s the tutorial:

What you need:

  • A onesie
  • A fabric swatch (approximately and inch larger all around than the shape you hope to make)
  • Scissors
  • An iron
  • A sewing machine, or needle and thread
Here’s how I did it:

I first held up the onesie to my son to get a rough estimate of where the onesie meets his pants. I kept my finger there and marked it with a small pencil dot.

Next I put the fabric swatch over the area to choose how big the “1” would need to be.

This next step is important. The first time I did this, I flipped over the fabric so the back side was up, and then I penciled out a “1”…that was correctly facing me. When I flipped it back over, I had a backward “1”! Oops :) So, needless to say: Flip the fabric so the back side is facing up, and pencil out your shape backward.

Next, I clipped the corners and folded each side down, ironing them into place.

I safety-pinned the “1” to the onesie so it wouldn’t move (it actually did move a bit and it is slightly uneven…and I don’t have enough time to be obsessing over the slightly crooked 1 on my son’s shirt. It’ll still be cute!), so I would recommend maybe three pins.

I started at the top and sewed down.

Left the needle down and turned the fabric. I kept doing this until I had sewed all around the fabric and carefully back-stitched.

And there it is!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Simple homemade onesie for my (almost) one-year-old! at halcyon homestead.

meta

