Pure joy swinging

February 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

I love watching the pure joy on my son’s face when I push him in the swing. When we swing (well, when he swings), it’s a moment for this mama that is hard to describe, though I’ll try.

When I was a little girl I loved to swing, and I would stay on those swings until it grew dark. I didn’t care much for monkey bars or slides. I wanted to feel the breeze through my hair, I wanted to fly. I would day dream on those swings. I would pretend I was Wendy, sometimes I was Tinker Bell, soaring through the London and Neverland skies with Peter Pan. I was free, and light and happy. I loved the feeling of my legs pumping to make myself go faster and higher. I liked the work that felt so effortless. Once I had reached as high as I could go and the chains would start to double back on themselves, I would jump. Just float through the air and land on my own two feet. In those moments, when I was in the air, I caught my breath and time just slowed. Just for that moment. And then I would laugh, boast about how I landed on my feet, and do it all over again.

When I see the joy on Rafe’s face as I push him and giggle with him, I remember those times. I remember my love for swings. I can’t wait until he is old enough to learn to pump his legs himself and dream the dreams I had on those swings. I certainly hope he doesn’t aspire to be Wendy or Tinker Bell, but I think being Peter Pan would be pretty awesome too. I can’t wait until I can swing next to him for a few minutes, before I have to jump off to chase after my other children I hope to have one day.

I know as my son grows older, I will have more and more of these moments. Remembering moments, happy moments. I’m sure I’ll have some wistful moments. But for now, these moments are at the swings.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pure joy swinging at halcyon homestead.

meta

