Sweater remake

January 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

As one of my goals this year is to repurpose items that I don’t use into things that I will use, I decided to try changing a pullover sweater I never wear (that I’ve had since high school!) into a an open sweater that I can just shrug on and off. I am not an amazing seamstress, but I think this project turned out well for me, and I am very happy with it!

Here’s what I used:

  • An old pullover sweater
  • A sewing machine
  • Scissors
  • A needle and thread

Here’s what I did (see photos below):

  1. I separated the “v” at the bottom of the neckline and cut along the horizontal seam, separating the two folds making them into “tabs.”
  2. Then, I found the middle of the sweater and cut a straight line vertically, following the knitted pattern down the length of the sweater.
  3. Next, I re-sewed the bottom horizontal section of the “v”, then  folded the raw vertical edge under and sewed.
  4. I then folded the “v” in such a way that the folded part at the top of the neckline slowly tapered down to the end. I sewed it horizontally, then vertically to ensure it would stay.

Finally, the base of the neckline wanted to turn out and expose the seams on the inside, so I simply got some black thread and tacked down the edge of the fold so that it tapered smoothly. And there you have it, a repurposed sweater!

Tagged: , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweater remake at halcyon homestead.

meta

