Sister Jess’s Black Bean Burritos

January 27, 2012 § 2 Comments

You’ll have to forgive me that I don’t have a beautiful photo of a nicely assembled black bean burrito to show you…I had just gotten back from a long run (well, long for me!) and was too ravenous to pause and take a photo, not to mention my photos are full on my phone and I need to upload them to my computer. So, instead you get the leftovers piled into a freezer bag for an easy pre-made meal…I know it’s not as appetizing, but I promise this is so good, and the picture does not do it justice. Here’s my sister’s recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp oil
  • 2 Cups chopped onions
  • 4 Cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 Tsp cumin
  • 3 Tsp chili powder
  • 6 Cups cooked rice (about 2 cups uncooked)
  • 2 Cans black beans (about 3.5 cups)
  • 2 Cups frozen corn
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

Heat oil, chopped onions and chopped garlic into a skillet. Once onions are translucent, add cumin, chili powder, rice, black beans and frozen corn. Serve once it’s heated through.

You can serve this plain, with sour cream and cheese on a tortilla or with tortilla chips and a veggie, which generally can make it last for more than one meal. Since we have such a small family, I was able to make enough for at least two dinners, if not three.

Side note: I added about 1/8 cup chopped cilantro to the rice, and also added Tabasco sauce to taste. This is delicious!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Sister Jess’s Black Bean Burritos

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sister Jess’s Black Bean Burritos at halcyon homestead.

meta

