The pink night sky

January 21, 2012 § Leave a comment

Tonight it is snowing. It hasn’t snowed much this year at all, and I absolutely love it. It’s beautiful, soft, quiet. It gives me a good excuse to sit and read a book, work on a project, or simply catch up on housecleaning or some tv. Tonight, tonight is a memory night, when I looked out the window and saw the pink night sky.

I just recalled to my husband one of my favorite snow memories. When I was 5 my parents took the four of us children (well, it may have just been my dad and the three of us girls, my mom might have stayed home with my baby brother…either way, I know it was at least my dad and us three girls) to see the Rescuers Down Under at a local theater that was walking distance from our townhouse. I remember coming out of the theater, and first seeing the snow on the ground and then the pink sky filled with falling snow and the street light glow. I remember my younger sister, who I think must have been in the 3-year-old phase of obstinately dressing herself, because she was wearing her jelly sandals with socks. I remember being jealous because she got a piggyback ride from my dad the whole way home because her feet were so inappropriately clad for the weather.

But I also remember skipping in the snow, twirling in the snow and looking up at the sky. As pink was my favorite color at the time, and still is one of my favorites to this day, I thought it was the most beautiful thing. It was night. But the sky was pink. And I still think it’s beautiful.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading The pink night sky at halcyon homestead.

meta

