Natural stovetop cleaner … it worked!

January 13, 2012 § Leave a comment

Not only did the natural stovetop cleaner work, it completely cleaned my embarrassingly disgusting old stovetop! And it also worked better than the typical commercial kitchen cleaners…for a fraction of the cost.

Now, even though though it did work really well, I had to put in about an hour of my time and a lot of elbow grease. Lucky for me I have a pretty content 11 month old who was happy to sit in the peanut gallery (his high chair) and eat black beans and apple puffs and giggle at me as I scrubbed away.

So, here’s what I used:

-White vinegar

-Baking soda

-A kitchen sponge with a scrubby side

-A plastic fork (or any plastic utensil would work just fine)

What I had to work against:

I simply made a slightly watery paste out of the vinegar and baking soda (don’t be surprised when the mixture bubbles up when you add the vinegar), smeared it on the greasy stovetop and started scrubbing away.

About halfway through, my son needed his bottle so I made a thicker paste of the vinegar and baking soda and smeared it on the leftover spots to sit for 5 or 10 minutes.

After this I scrubbed a little bit more with the sponge but realized I needed something non-abrasive that would scratch the gunk off without harming the stovetop. So, I came up with the butt end of a plastic fork.

To my delight, this worked really well! It not only scraped the bits off easily, but it gave my fingers a break. After I started using the fork things went much more quickly and I was heartened to see my dream (I really did think it was a dream) of a super clean, glistening old stovetop become a reality. Sooo…

Blinding white! Clean! Sparkly!

Old ugly stovetop still old, but not ugly!

Really, I almost think it could be charming. Almost.

Thanks, white vinegar and baking soda! You all should give this a try if your stovetop needs a good little scrubbing.

Tagged: , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Natural stovetop cleaner … it worked! at halcyon homestead.

meta

